Fun Fact Friday 3/21/14 (late)

So, I am late again with this  Fun Fact Friday.  And, to be honest, I’m not sure how fun these facts are.  :)  But, I am going to do a 2fer again since I was late in writing this post.

I have done a bit of research into my family history, and I love it.  I am hooked!  I found out some very interesting information yesterday, so here we go:

  1. My great-grandmother is the product of a union between 2 first cousins.  In Ireland, back in the day, who knows what went on?  Also, we also don’t know if one of the cousin’s parents was adopted.  Many different scenarios could have played out.
  2. I have ancestors from Germany.  This is very exciting news to me!

 

2 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday 3/21/14 (late)

  1. Cousin marriages were very common even first cousins. They happen for many reasons, knowing the family, and keeping the land in the family are just two reasons. Most of us who had early ancestors in this country have cousin marriages. In fact both my wife and I are 10th cousins. We found that out about two years ago when we discovered our common grandparents.

    Like

Let's chat!

