Infections and cancellations

Hi.  This is kind of a whiny post, so you have been warned.

I’m so effing tired of infections on my body.  In my body. I don’t know.  I’m just tired of them.  One of the stitches from the dermatology appointment incision is infected – AND his office called yesterday to confirm the appointment for tomorrow then called TODAY to cancel the appointment. Plus I have another infection ( in another area) which means I have to start antibiotics.  Nice.  Not Nice.

UMMMM….I have a bit of a problem-o here. So I told the girl and she told the medical assistant and they are getting me in tomorrow with a different doctor.  OK, I am OK with that.

Then I also had an appointment tomorrow with a G.I. doctor for a consult for a colonoscopy and endoscopy and have had this appointment for no less than TWO MONTHS scheduled.  Same thing happened with confirming and then CANCELLING.  Doctor isn’t coming to this office for X amount of time and the soonest they can get me in is AUGUST.  FREAKING AUGUST.  Now, Cowden’s Syndrome affects 1 in a quarter million people.  And I haven’t looked recently at the stats for colon cancer because I’m trying to keep my anxiety under control and get back to my life – but with a recommendation of a colonoscopy 2x a year – the odds are NOT GOOD.  And I don’t want to wait another 3 months.  I just don’t.

And, I think I have sleep apnea.  My weight isn’t helping that possibility of that.

AND, anxiety makes you hold onto cortisol or something….which increases belly fat.

BUT, the good news is that I can hold a plank on my knees for 30 seconds which I could NOT do 5 weeks ago.  So, the gym is paying off.  My weight is just creeping up and I get discouraged.  I don’t know how to reconcile that.  I want my life back.  EFF you Cowden’s.

One thought on “Infections and cancellations

  1. Oh I have been there, and I hear you Heather – loud and clear. Eff you Cowden’s – I agree! I have to say though, you and I – with diagnosis less than a year ago, have been pretty damn vigilant. It’s Ok in the middle of being pissed about clueless doctors and cancellations to be proud of how much control you have taken, and the whole plank thing. I find that impressive too! 🙂 Hang in there!

Let's chat!

