Time to put on my big girl panties

And suck it up.

I saw the Plastic Surgeon today regarding the breast reconstruction (that I’m going to have at some point after the PBM.  I will have immediate reconstruction.  There is no doubt about that decision.)  But when?  I don’t know yet.  I need to still pray about that heavily.

It was a good appointment.

I thought I could just get implants.  But I would most likely have to have tissue expanders…which scare(d) me currently.  Risk of infection, etc. etc.

I could also go smaller in cup size (yay!) – and get a lift (double yay!)

I need to go for more of my walk…only got in 30 minutes so far today.  More tomorrow or something soon.

7 thoughts on “Time to put on my big girl panties

  1. HUGE step! Glad you like the pastic surgeon. That will help when the time comes. Not sure how I got away without the tissue expanders. Most doctors seem to class them as a have to. Probably smarter anyway. Although I am getting used to my tiny round (sweaty) silicone boobs! good luck!!

  2. I highly doubt you watch the new 90210 on CW, but there is a girl on the show who has the “Cancer Gene”. They don’t say that it’s Cowden’s, but a very similar story. She has to decide if she wants babies now because ovarian cancer is such a high risk. So she’s having a really cute boy be the baby daddy.

    I know its a totally glorified and silly version of what you are going through, but I still couldn’t help but think of you and thought it was an interesting story line.

    You have a huge decision to make, and I’m sure you will make the right one for you. And I love that you’re looking at the bright side. Saw a couple “yays” in there 🙂 Good luck buddy!

  3. You’ve cleared another milestone. Just hang in there. I wasn’t a one-step or diep flap procedure. I also never found anyone that performed them in my area. The expanders don’t give you any sense of instant gratification, but they are tried and true. I found that if you ask 3 plastic surgeons how they approach reconstruction, then you’ll get 5 different answers. In the end, its more important that you are comfortable and confident in the surgeon. Hang in there! You’re going to do great. If you want to see any of my pictures, let me know and I’ll be happy to send them to you.

  4. Pingback: Hysterectomies are hysterical! « hopeforheather

Let's chat!

