What #Braintumorthursday means to me

I’m not a writer.  I’m just a girl whose life got turned upside down last July with the news of brain tumors.

I don’t really edit my posts.  I just sit down and write on my blog, so whatever comes out is what you get.  This is what I need to do to stay sane.  To keep some sort of normalcy in my life.  Sometimes I have a sense of control and regularity of my life, and other times it’s all I can do to get up in the morning.  That’s just life.  This is just my life.  It is what it is.  Can’t change it.  Just have to embrace it.  Try to make the most of it.  Try to figure out which way is up (which way IS up?) and which way is forward.  I don’t want to be a victim to circumstances.  And as my Visiting Teacher told me, “Sometimes garbage just happens.”  It’s happened to her, to me, to friends, strangers.  It just happens.

Anyway, I have struggled to find where I fit in in my life now.  With friends, trying to find a job, etc. etc.  If you would have told me months ago that I would find support on Twitter I would have laughed out loud.  But, I did.  And I have.  Twitter has been a great support system to me, namely #braintumorthursday Every Thursday (as you can see) those who have brain cancer/brain tumors or those affected by it get their tweeting fingers out and take to Twitter World.  To do what we can to help raise awareness.  I’m advocating to get the word out.  To get my story out.  So depending on what’s going on for me that week I’ll tweet something about last July, or if I have a neurosurgeon appointment or MRI coming up, or something like that and include the hashtag #braintumorthursday in my tweet.  Sometimes, those involved in the campaign will tweet celebrities and ask them if they will retweet (RT) the message to increase the awareness.  Last Thursday I tweeted Kody Brown from Sister Wives and he retweeted my tweet!  I’m not sure how many followers he has but it’s quite a bit.  That did a lot to help raise awareness for brain tumors!

And the story of others who have brain tumors and are living their lives with brain tumors.  I have connected with INCREDIBLE people who have basically “live-tweeted” their interactions with brain cancer.  (A colleague of mine [I love to say it that way, I don’t know why] just lost her mother to brain cancer and pretty much live tweeted the entire journey.)  Here is her blog if you’d like to read it.  Very inspiring and yet heartbreaking at the same time.  Others I’ve connected with more at a distance…and yet others I feel I’ve become “virtual friends” with.  One colleague told me that God can work through the Internet.  I’m starting to see that…

This one and another although she doesn’t have a blog yet.

And here’s where I get into what #Braintumorthursday means to me:  (But I don’t like reading HUGE posts, and I don’t like reading them as much as I don’t like writing them so I am going to break it into 2 posts.)  Part #2 coming up.

Let's chat!

