There’s so much change going on it’s coming out of my ears!

20120916-194524.jpg

And no, that’s not a Disneyland pun. ๐Ÿ™‚

Because of this blog, I just got home from a local animal shelter and decided I’m going to volunteer. YEP. Me. The person who has no boundaries and loves all cats and wants to take each one of them home with me. I DID IT. It was so neat! It wasn’t as hard as I thought it’d be when it came time to leave them. There were so many cat rooms and I decided to spend some time in the 2 rooms outside in the 90 degree weather. But as I was leaving the shelter I was pondering this thought. Would I have done this had I not had brain surgery last summer? And being diagnosed with Cowden’s Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos? I really do not know.

The first room needed the food changed urgently as it was infested with ants. But, no big. Heather to the rescue! ๐Ÿ™‚

There were 4 cats in that room (I think) and I played with them a bit. They were just getting used to me and me them. I was also trying to get a feel for the run of the grounds.

The second room was more eventful. I gave them fresh water and as I was coming back outside one of the cats was TICKED OFF. Not at me, mind you. But another cat that was just minding his own business. (I’ll name him Coyote for this post because he looked like my old cat Coyote.) Coyote was minding his own business but TOC (Ticked Off Cat) was chasing him around the entire set up. Coyote was howling and hissing and was definitely in the submissive position and I wasn’t concerned that TOC was going to do anything to me. I found a toy to distract him and got in his (her?) face. I did that for a few seconds but then s/he was done with me and took off to find Coyote again to give him the “WHAT FOR”. I got in TOC’s face again to distract him (I just will call him a male because he was such a bully, hah) and finally one of the other volunteers (read: NOT NEW) came over and removed TOC from the shelter outside and took him to another place.

I’m really excited I made this decision to volunteer here. I don’t have to have a set schedule either…I can just come when it works for me and do what needs to be done, or go get some cat love. ๐Ÿ™‚

The pic above is Tiggerwigger and I decided to post her picture here since I’ve not yet introduced her here on my blog. What better day than today!

3 thoughts on “There’s so much change going on it’s coming out of my ears!

Let's chat!

