I have a really bad habit of not tying my shoes

Courtesy of: photographybyjaana.com

Good morning!

I just left a message at the imaging place to schedule my next breast MRI.

This is what you do when you have Cowden’s Syndrome and are high-risk for breast cancer.  You put on your big-girl panties and suck it up.

I can do this.

I am strong.

I’m ignoring (for now) the odd-looking thing on my right breast.

Which is the same breast that caused all the DRAMA during the summer.

I must do this.  I have no other choice.

[NOTE:  My blog post title means nothing.  It’s actually true; I just wanted a funny intro to this post.  And, this picture has nothing to do with this post either.  It’s just my literal happy place.  During the MRI I will be “going here” in my head.]

2 thoughts on “I have a really bad habit of not tying my shoes

  1. Just found your blog from Brother Jon’s shout out.
    I am a recovering brain tumor removal patient. I had a vestibular schwannoma removed in 2004, sounds like a long time but life continues to happen. Just keep plugging along and the days and years since surgery just keep piling up. Life can even return to some semblence of normal for everyone around you, but you are never really the same. The self analysis and understanding that you accept about your human-ness makes you forever different. I sometimes forget what it was like to not know or feel about my own fragile existence.
    Life goes on, your sense of humor will certainly help. My perspective is eternally different because I have seen my brain (on video anyway) and I have seen a man poke around in it with a stick (ok, it wasn’t really as stick, but it looked like a pencil under the magnification he was using – it really was the size of a #5 mechanical pencil lead attached to the end of his finger).
    Looking forward to hearing how your journey goes.

    • Thanks for the kind words. I’ve noticed that my blog is taking different shapes as time has gone by. In the beginning it was all about notifying family and friends about details of the surgery.

      Now I see it morphing more into rare disease advocacy, or awareness at least, volunteering, trying to keep an optimistic attitude, etc. 🙂

      This journey I know find myself on is I would NOT have ever chosen…but I’m trying to embrace it in the best way I can.

Let's chat!

