Breast MRI #2

Tomorrow morning I’m going to have my 2nd breast MRI.  (For those new to my blog – Cowden’s Syndrome puts me at an 85% risk of getting breast cancer.  I alternate every 6 months of getting a mammogram and breast MRI to check my Dairy Queens.  THAT WAY….I’m always getting screened, we are always on guard, we are always on the look out.) 

Then – I still have to make the decision of the prophylactic bilateral mastectomy.  But I’d like some down time where I don’t have to think of any surgery.  I wonder when that will be?  (Enter sarcasm here!)

I have to put on my big girl panties YET AGAIN (I guess I best have stock in some company that makes them since Cowden’s Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos  Disease are going to keep me on my TOES all the freaking time!) ~ and my mom brought up a good point:

The first of anything “bad” is always hard.  The first brain MRI I had sucked rocks.  And so did the first breast MRI.  But now I know what to expect.  I know that the Ativan is a must.  I’ll have my iPod, some nice music, lots of happy thoughts at Disneyland, etc.  I’ve got this.

NOW…I don’t WANT this…but I have to have this, apparently.  Thanks to my lovely genes.

My nephews are at my house working on their homework with Grandma and I’m just doing the next best thing.  Blessings and gratitude.

Whatever the test result shows – it shows.

Any amount of fretting and stressing won’t change the outcome.

After the 12-step meeting this week I heard this phrase that I just love:  “It’s time to start taking radical care of myself.”  Also, when I came home from this meeting I put the following paper in my God Box: “I put the outcome of Thursdays test in Thy Hands.”

I’m trying friends and family…I’m really trying hard.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Breast MRI #2

  1. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” One of my favorite verses. Hard to do, but keep practicing. You got this.

Let's chat!

