Stick to the Ship of Zion

engraving of Lorenzo Snow, 5th Prophet of the ...

engraving of Lorenzo Snow, 5th Prophet of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from Biography and Family Record of Lorenzo Snow (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This morning I taught Lesson 3 of the Lorenzo Snow Manual in Relief Society.  I really don’t think there could have been a better lesson for me to teach – FOR ME.  I felt the Spirit so strongly in the room and although I didn’t cover even 1/2 of the lesson material, I left there feeling so edified.  I know the Spirit taught me this morning and reminded me of the things I need to always strive for as I work on my Lifelong Conversion.  I joked with the Sisters and reminded them that teach high school students and kindergarteners.  I was a bit afraid that part of my teaching tools from either of those groups of students might overlap with the women this morning.  :)[I’m happy to share that no one got suspended and no one tattled on another sister.]

Conversion to the Gospel of Jesus Christ isn’t a one shot deal. It’s not done once baptism is complete.  This morning the sisters and I discussed our/when our testimonies became real for us; and why a testimony is a starting point only and not our end destination.  It was such an enriching discussion and I learned so much from the lesson today.  I didn’t become converted right at my baptism, and what I knew then is only a tiny miniscule of what I know today.  Which then leads me to the thought, “What do I want to know next month [about the Gospel]? Or next year?” Whatever it is…I must continue to become converted.

For me, I know I must always be growing and learning, always facing forward towards the Lord.  Over my lifetime, and especially during this last year and a half, I’ve been turned around.  Rather, I’ve been facing toward the Lord – but not immersed in the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  I always want to be advancing in the principles of truth.  This calling as Relief Society Teacher has really honed my focus and reminded me of what I need to be doing/thinking/studying.  I ended my lesson with the paragraph beginning, “Stick with the ship of Zion”….if we stick with this ship we will be in the right direction for continuing our lifelong conversion.

2 thoughts on “Stick to the Ship of Zion

  1. I taught that lesson yesterday too!
    I’m really enjoying Lorenzo Snow’s words. There seems to be a continual theme of putting in a full effort of work and striving to learn and improve in what I’ve read so far in the manual.
    However, my lesson focused on ‘anchoring yourself in the gospel,’ and experimenting – but only with good things.

Let's chat!

