“All About Me”

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

...Hope...

…Hope… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

I can do this!  Sure thing!

July 18, 2011 I found out I had a 5cm. brain tumor in my cerebellum.

I don’t remember much else from that time but I knew I wanted needed a way to keep in touch with my friends and family.  Texting, emailing, phone calls were going to become too much for my mom and I to manage so making this blog seemed like a good way to go.

I never really gave much thought (then) to the title; I just KNEW I need(ed) a lot of hope.  (Come to find out later that I even had strangers praying for me.  How amazing is that?!  If that’s not a hopeful thought I don’t know what is.)

It just made sense and fell into place:  I chose hopeforheather and here we are today.  Going strong!  My blog means I am not alone; I have a voice; my story matters; I matter.  I am stronger than I realized and while I can’t take off the Cowden’s Syndrome or Lhermitte-duclos coat (as much as I’d like to) – I have hope that I’ll continue to learn more about me and what I am capable of enduring and achieving!

9 thoughts on ““All About Me”

  1. A very powerful statement you are making! Your outlook and outlet go so well together. I’m still looking for an outlet for some of my brain issues. Though not in the form of cancers, it consumes much of my mind’s attention. A phone call or email to someone close is also not satisfactory.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

  3. It’s also great that you’re raising awareness of illnesses that I’d never heard of, and probably there are loads out there like me who are now becoming aware. Keep up the good work 🙂

  4. Hi, after dicovering about 6 months ago that a PTEN gene mutation was most likely the cause of my young son’s develomental delay and Autism both my husband and I were tested for the same alteration. We dicovered that my husband also has a PTEN mutation and he is currently in the process of being diagnosed with Cowden’s Syndrome/PTEN harmatoma tumour syndrome although his symptoms are mild. I look forward to reading your blog and learning more.

    • I’m so glad you found my blog! My family hasn’t been able to determine who before me has the mutation. I think my dad – but he’s passed away. I kind of theorize that I’m first in the line with this….and I’ll be the last since I am not having children/will not risk passing on Cowden’s Syndrome to them.

      I am glad you write on a blog so I can follow your story as well. Congrats on the wedding!

      • Thank you. We found out about our sons mutation the same week we got married so we stood at the alter knowing that most likely one of us had it too. That doesn’t matter when you love each other though, in sickness and in health and all that! It was an incredibly emotional time though.

Let's chat!

