“Hey! I know you. I read your blog!”

I can’t believe anyone would ever say those words to me.

And yet today, someone did.

This wasn’t a person that I know in “real life”, a friend or family member.

This was a stranger.  (Come to find out we have a mutual friend and attend the same church.)

How cool is this?

I attended my first Force meeting yesterday and while my head is still reeling from the information I received, I am so thankful I attended.  I went.  I sat.  I listened.

This is why I wanted to go, and will still go.  I’m not sure yet my decision about the prophylactic bilateral mastectomy.  I just don’t know.

But hearing these incredible women share their stories gave me strength.  Gave me hope.  Caused me a bit of confusion because I thought to myself, “Self?  Look at these beautiful women.  Look at these women who just ‘had boob jobs’.  They did this and have come through the other side with flying colors.  You can do this too.”

I’m not going to write too many more details about the meeting because I feel I need to honor the women there but there was one woman who I was just so struck by.  She shared some very personal things with me about her life journey and she was beaming.  Just beaming.  Her countenance was glowing and she struck me in a way I haven’t felt in a long time.  I left the meeting feeling good, partly because of her.

This is why I went to the Force meeting.  So that maybe on some small level I can feel forceful in this new road I find myself on with Cowden’s Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos disease.

7 thoughts on ““Hey! I know you. I read your blog!”

  1. I’m over here visiting from a comment on lpalmerchronicles. It is interesting how we can feel we “know” someone from reading their blog. But I get that. I read so many, and feel like I have gotten to know many different people, and, of course, I’ve never met any of them. I wish you the best on your journey. I hope you can find some encouragement.

  2. Heather, just wanted you to know I got my genetics test back and I do have the mutation. I knew, of course, just hit kinda hard. Hope you are well…….Jill

  3. Glad to hear the Force group was a positive experience. I know that I will be doing the prophylactic bilateral mastectomy, but procrastinator that I am, I’ll wait until the doctors see something in my scans. Then I guess it won’t be so prophylactic. 😉 After having so many parts removed already, I can’t believe how ok I am with this decision. Now I’m more concerned about taking more time off of work. Take care, Heather!

    • Good morning Debbie: You know, just when I *think* I’ve made my decision on the PBM…I head right back around the other direction and too think, “Nah, I’ll wait until IF I have to do this.” Do you mind me asking if you have any family history of breast cancer? I do not…which makes this bitter pill even harder to swallow. The surgical oncologist tells me in regards to that statement, “Yes Heather…but these are YOUR genes.” which I get on some level…but still. The 85% lifetime risk is based on WHAT, you know? I just don’t know. I just don’t know…

      But I echo that last sentiment…I can’t believe that I’m even considering this too. I hear you about the work thing also…yet I don’t have a job so I’m not entirely worried about that..I’m more worried about my mom (who’s my caregiver) or finding someone who can help take care of me during my recovery. I’m having another surgery this summer (most likely) but yet my mom travels a lot and I don’t want to keep her from her travels….

      Thanks a LOT Cowden’s Syndrome! 😦 (HAH, enter sarcasm here.)

      • My cousin who was a few years older than me, died at 39 of breast cancer. We were closer as kids so we really didn’t stay in touch, but it was shocking to hear nonetheless. Other than that, no other family members — that I know of. I guess that I’ll do it when I have to – – and when I do have to have the operation, the whole rack goes.

        I definitely hate being an imposition on others so I know how you feel about your mom and causing her to change her plans.This is how much I don’t want to bother others — there have been multiple times when I haven’t told my family that I was in the hospital. This only works because I don’t live with them! In fact, since my Dad had prostate cancer, I waited until he passed to tell my mom that I had thyroid cancer. Because it was a multinodular goiter the size of a grapefruit, they knew I had it taken out, but that was it. I’m bad, but tough bananas. This is how I cope and take care of me. 🙂

Let's chat!

