Powdered donuts

Powdered Donut

Powdered Donut (Photo credit: thstrain)

Last night Nephew #2 (6 years old) saw a package of Hostess White Powdered Donuts I had bought. Upon seeing them he said, “Ohhhhhh, those are so good. When you had your head surgery we went to the cafeteria and had some of those.”

What struck me:

  • “Head surgery” (I think I am OK with him to have that association instead of my brain)
  • He associates those donuts with the hospital cafeteria. Not a family road trip, Grandma’s house, or anything else.

What do you think of when you see powdered donuts? Personally, I think of little, bits, of goodness in my mouth! But I’m sure I have some wheat sensitivity which means I can’t enjoy these (much) anymore.

Color me sad. 😦

11 thoughts on “Powdered donuts

  1. Oh, I love them. I love them fresh and warm from our local orchard. I love how the sugar sticks to my fingers so I can lick it off. Unfortunately, donuts as a whole (no pun intended) don’t love me back. I end up feeling crummy (pun intended) for the rest of the day.

    There must be something about hospital cafeteria food. My kid talks about that during my stay as well. Maybe it’s some sort of coping mechanism.

  2. I think of dipping them in my Papa’s coffee or milk at his kitchen table because I didn’t want my drink to get “crummy” and him happily letting me. 🙂

  3. They make these amazing donuts called Tiny Tom Donuts here in Toronto. They usually have a stand in the summer at the CNE. Brings back childhood memories.

Let's chat!

