Staying focused on my goal

  • I am having major surgery (hysterectomy) to manage my uterine cancer risk and to GET RID of any potential beast that may cause any more havoc in my life.  There is enough to worry about with my cerebellum and the gangliocytomas; my uterus isn’t helping me at this point in the game.  It is time to go.
  • Most of today (besides wrapping presents with Nephew #2, and enjoying my time with both my nephews) I have been frantically working in my room trying to make some headway in the mess that is there.  Clothes are put away.  Dresser is getting cleaned.  I am working hard!
  • Do you have any movie or book recommendations for me to watch/read during my recovery?
  • For those who don’t know, I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  At church this morning I received a Priesthood Blessing and feel a bit more sure-footed going into Wednesday morning.
  • Dr. K (surgeon) said he thinks I will be in the hospital one night and barring any complications (NO WHAMMIES!) I will be home from the hospital Thursday.
  • As I try to recall often, “There’s a lot to be said for hope and miracles.”  Looks like I am going to be dipping into the pots again of both.
  • This message is brought to you in part by Cowden’s Syndrome (PTEN Hamartoma Syndrome).  Granted, I still might have had this surgery if I didn’t have a genetic mutation (rare disease), but CS is sure making my decision much quicker for me!

Latter-day Saints believe in the resurrected J...

5 thoughts on “Staying focused on my goal

  1. You need something light hearted to read. I had a hysterectomy in 2003 because they thought I had ovarian cancer. Surprisingly it wasn’t as bad for me as I thought it would be and my recovery went well. Blessings to you as you go through this.

  2. Thinking of you as you go through the procedure and recovery. I really enjoyed Chains, a YA novel about a slave in pre-revolutionary New York City. Just a thought. All the best to you.
    BB

  3. Beat the beast!! “Killing Jesus” by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard is a good read. Among other things, it provides am interesting perspective on the political factors at play during the time of Jesus.

Let's chat!

