Running in the park

I need more days like today.

Went to see Rio 2 with mom and my nephews.  Ate sushi and watched my nephews run around the park.  Remember when you could just run, run, run, and run without a care in the world?  I am so glad I got to experience today with my family.

I tweeted this morning that I was looking forward to a NON Rare Disease day.  Between the struggles of life that Cowden’s Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease bring me, I am thankful for any opportunity to lay it down.

Now, I must get ready to tutor and get to a get to bed early because I am subbing tomorrow morning.  It’s a nice change of pace to have some semblance of normalcy, and I know that I have to work on my thoughts of expecting good things to happen in my life, instead of waiting for the other shoe to drop.  It’s been almost 3 years since I heard the phrases Cowden’s Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease, I know that.

But, even after 3 years I don’t ever forget that I have 2 brain tumors, and that my life has completely done a 180.  I must start expecting good things in my life, and not fear the bad.  I know where this all stems from…the 5 cm. brain tumor completely rocked me to my core.  How much longer will it take me to acclimate to it?  Or is this the best it will be for me?  Who knows.  I just know that I am better than I was 3 years ago.  That’s a great thing.  That is progress.

As I have written before, there’s no book titled Cowden’s Syndrome for Dummies.  So, I didn’t get to read up about it after diagnosis.  The neurosurgeon didn’t give me “LDD 101” after surgery.  I guess for all intent and purpose, I’m not doing too bad.  This is my life, without any instructions, and I’m plugging along as best I can.

PS:  As I was editing this post, I had the thought, “Um. I wonder if there IS a book called “Cowden’s Syndrome for Dummies”?  If not, I SHOULD WRITE ONE!”  🙂

Let's chat!

