You know it’s a bad thing when…

the anesthesiologist gets called to do your sedation for the colonoscopy.

I SWORE that this time would be different.  I SWORE that I was going to get the hospital calm, relaxed, and meditative.  WHY WASN’T TODAY different?!  Every procedure/surgery I have had has been laced with drama, tears, incompetent staff, rude doctors, etc.  TODAY WAS SUPPOSED TO BE DIFFERENT!

Two years ago I had an EGD and colonoscopy.  Since I just been diagnosed with Cowden Syndrome the year before, I needed some baseline tests.  I hoped that today would be like last time.  Meaning, since I had 3 polyps last year and some were found via the EGD, and in after talking to both my oncologist and primary doctor, I was under the impression that I would have BOTH procedures this morning.  BOTH.

Now, this post talks a bit about what happened a few weeks ago.  Why did I assume that all would be OK today?  Was I supposed to call the GI Clinic to confirm the EGD when Dr. L and Dr. B both doctors confirmed for me?  No.  I shouldn’t have to do that.  I shouldn’t have to micro-manage all these people in all these clinics to do their freaking job.  It’s hard enough for me to manage what little control I have over my own  life.  It should be crystal clear why I have control issues!  This is MY LIFE.  MY BODY.  I expect these people to do their job.  Period.  And, when it comes at the expense of me, or my wasted time, I DO NOT CARE FOR THIS ONE BIT.

Mom and I get to the clinic:

NURSE 1:  “What are you having done today?”

ME:  “EGD and Colonoscopy.”

NURSE 1:  Looks at paperwork, “Ummmmm…..”

Cue ALL THE WORLD COMING TO A HALT HERE!

I lost it.  I literally and absolutely came unglued.  All over their place.  (My Blood Pressure was 145/110).  I can’t begin to express how angry I was!  Why wasn’t the EGD scheduled?  “Because they didn’t authorize it.”

WHO THE EFF IS “THEY”?!?!?!?!?

It was the GI Clinic’s fault.  But, oh remember when I talked to both doctors on my team and they said I was to have it?!  I was so pissed off.  I was cussing.  I was making a scene.  I called the oncologist’s office while I was in the bathroom after getting checked in.  THIS ISN’T OK!  My time is important.  My voice is important.  Sure, I don’t have to do the prep for the EGD but that doesn’t matter!  No one is accountable for giving me wrong information!  Every clinic was throwing the OTHER clinic under the bus.  Oncology was blaming GI, and GI was blaming oncology.  I even had names of people to talk to and that still didn’t matter.  THIS IS NOT RIGHT.  I’m still ticked off as I am writing this.

Since I am “having symptoms” and 2 years ago I had polyps, I want to know how things are now with me.  I don’t give a flying EFF that this random GI doctor says “the data doesn’t support needing an EGD.”  Didn’t my oncologist call for one?  No one can answer. NO ONE WAS WILLING TO ANSWER OR HELP ME.

Back to this morning:  My BP hasn’t lowered, and my mom convinced me that I had to do this regardless.  No one at the hospital was going to magically help me (what a freaking surprise) and allow the EGD at the same time as the colonoscopy.  When I got into the bed area, changed, and I was still yelling.  My poor mom was trying so hard to comfort and calm me down, I feel bad I embarrassed her.  But, I think she understands my frustration.  I can’t trust anyone to do their job!  THIS is what gives me anxiety. 

I think today was NURSE 1’s first day on the job (at least when it comes to IV’s.)  When I told her that I may be a hard stick, she said, “Oh no, don’t tell me that.”  And she wasn’t joking.  She was serious.  By the way, no one should have joked with me anyway at this point in my morning.  My head is spinning, and all I am thinking about is, “They better not have to do the IV in my hand.  I cannot take that.”  Another nurse comes in.  My mom is rubbing my shoulder.  I hear NURSE 1 say something else that did not help to bolster my confidence in her.  Then, I feel something wet on my arm.

DONE.  I am done.  DONE DONE DONE DONE DONE.

I really had a panic attack.  Not pretty friends.  I hope you don’t judge me.  I am not strong.  I am very weak when it comes to this stuff.  And, I went right back to the bad place and the brain surgeries and that drama.  Then, I went to the chaos with right before the hysterectomy.  All in about 3.5 seconds.  😦  I think my mom was afraid I was in pain.  I don’t think any of the nurses cared.  In fact, I’m mad about that, too.

Nurse 2 or 3 says that she is calling up an anesthesiologist to do the sedation since I am so upset and that doctor can give more than nurses can.  OK, I’m fine with that.  And, it just so happens I passed this doctor it the hallway on the way to the GI Lab minutes earlier.  I recognized her but she didn’t recognize me.  🙂

GI room.  Doctor.  Assistants.  No one told me when they gave me the sedation.  Then, I woke up.

Needless to say, when I got home I started the calls about the EGD.  That is when all the bus-throwing started.

Oncology Office, “GI Lab said you were to have EGD.  We didn’t know you weren’t having it until you just called us.  We talked to X at the GI clinic.” 

GI Office, “Don’t know what oncology is telling you. Don’t know what system they were looking at.  Dr. G (GI doctor who has never seen me before) said you didn’t need EGD so one wasn’t ordered.  We didn’t tell anyone at oncology anything.”

AND – my primary doctor even looked at this “phantom” system and told me the same thing.

What am I supposed to do?  Do you get what I am dealing with here? The level of my frustration? The amount of incompetency by someone, somewhere?  My hunch is it’s all GI’s fault. They messed up.  They dropped the ball.  All because of this random Dr. G (who hadn’t ever seen me before September, so he knows nothing about me or my history).  AND, he better be glad I don’t remember him or what he looks like, because if I saw him somewhere I would give him a piece of my mind.  I AM THE PATIENT.  I AM THE PERSON LIVING WITH COWDEN SYNDROME.  You may or may not have read about this rare disease in a book, or seen “one of us” in school.  But, if you don’t know me or my medical team, I don’t give a crap about you or your opinion.

5 thoughts on “You know it’s a bad thing when…

  1. Omg Heather. Why do these things happen? It’s just not fair. We shouldn’t have to micromanage our health like this. Having a similar experience today. Sending big hugs lovely lady xxx

  2. Pingback: The EGD that wasn’t supposed to be | hopeforheather

  3. Pingback: Sickness, be gone | hopeforheather

Let's chat!

