Well, that’s new

Something happened to me at church today, and I really didn’t like it.  I teach Relief Society once a month and this morning during the lesson I got very dizzy and lost my balance.  (Thankfully I didn’t faceplant).  I was embarrassed and really scared.  I know that most of the sisters thought I was getting emotional about what I was reading, although a few sisters (who know my history) knew exactly what was happening.

I was fighting a headache all morning.  Then that happened.  It kind of felt like I was on a roller coaster ride and it was still moving, although I wasn’t.  I grabbed a chair and very carefully sat down on it.  It was the weirdest thing.  Sure, I get dizzy when I lay down for bed.  Or, when I’m turning over in bed.  Or, when I am walking and I look down, or any such thing.  But, this was new.  And, I didn’t like it.

I guess this is brain tumor life.  Or, Lhermitte-duclos life.  Or, brain surgery life.  Who knows.  It’s just terrifying.  Scary, unknown stuff and I’m scared this dizzy crap is going to start really interfering with my quality of life.

Crap.  Freaking crap crap crap.

10 thoughts on “Well, that’s new

  1. The feeling of being “dizzy” is not like pain. Pain, within reason, can be put on the back burner and one can often muddle through. Dizziness or vertigo turns the world upside down and can be so frightening because you don’t know if it will get worse or how long it will continue. Driving or even walking can be intimidating. This feeling I actually do understand and it is very scary. Try hard to remember our “One Day (moment) at a Time” if at all possible. Wishing you the best today and always.♥

    • I sure appreciate this Linda….I know that there are a special few of us who really get this whole balance/vertigo mess. And, walking has been very intimidating for me as of late, too. UGH. I am so thankful to have connected with you. 🙂

  2. Heather, I didn’t know about all of this. I am praying for you and hope all is well. I miss you a lot and I remember our dinner dates with a smile on my face. You always struck me as a strong woman, and I know Heavenly Father loves you and is proud of the way you handle the life he has given you. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. It’s gotta be scary. We are here for you. I’m praying for you!

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry Heather. I don’t know if this will make you feel better or not, but before I got diagnosed, I was at a mall. I was actually walking through Macy’s. I felt dizzy and had no other option than to sit down in what they call “Indian Style” between racks of clothing until it passed. Not only did I have to drive home after that, but EVERYBODY was giving me weird looks! It was embarrassing.

    • No, I get it. And, I get a chuckle out of your story because I really do get it. I had a few small episodes before diagnosis, too. Nothing like they are now, of course. But, I get it. Thank you for sharing this story of yours because it does help me feel better.

Let's chat!

