Fun Fact Friday 1/30/15

I am shaking my head about this, but I feel it needs to be written for no other reason but for clarification purposes.  I hope that you all will either get a good chuckle about this, or say to yourself, “Oh man! I had no idea.  I’m glad I read this.”  🙂

I saw one of my mannnnnnny doctors a while back and she said something to me at the end of my appointment that was really surprisingShe knows I attend this church and in our conversation she said, “Now be sure to tell them you go to the Church of the Latter-day Saints.”

Um.

WHUT?!

Now, she didn’t say “The Mormon Church”; which I could have easily corrected her, respectfully and lovingly, by telling her the name of the church is: “The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints”.  (For some reason, people seem to gloss over the Jesus Christ part!  Why?  I don’t get it.)  Even NPR‘s “Fact Checker” didn’t do any research as I have heard it stated on air the same way my chiropractor mentioned it.

I was just so taken aback that I didn’t get a chance to say to her, “You accidentally left out the most important part:  Jesus Christ.”  On all the logos, missionaries badges, etc., the name of Jesus Christ is BOLD because it’s  THE MOST IMPORTANT PART.

I know I am not here to change the world.  I can only do what I can do on this tiny part of the Internet.  I just want YOU to know that I believe and worship in Jesus Christ.  He leads the church I attend.

One thought on “Fun Fact Friday 1/30/15

  1. Part of it might be the length of the name, part of it that they can only remember “Latter-day Saints” means “Mormon” (which is a BIG step in the right direction) – but, I love your response for next time “The most important part” of our Church name is definitely Jesus Christ.
    He’s who we are and what we are all about. 🙂

Let's chat!

