Physical Therapy 4, or what I like to call Frustration 101

I missed writing about Physical Therapy 3 last week, so we’ll just have to call that a wash.

Just got home from P.T. 4.  I’m never not amazed at how much it takes out of me.  Physically and emotionally!  So much stuff.  So much balance.  So much brain.  So much frustration.  I want to take advantage of every moment I have there, for many reasons.  But, the main one is that I want my balance to get better.  And, I think that in just these last 4 visits I have seen some progress.  Of course there are variables, whether I worked before hand (I did today) and things of that nature.  I felt a little run-down going into the appointment and suffice to say, I am even more run-down now!  P.T. is hard!  But, I guess it’s a good run-down.  🙂

First the P.T. had me get on a stationary bike type thing to get warmed up.  I really liked it and remember thinking, “Man.  Sure would be great to have one of these at home!”  Ha.  Here are a few of the exercises he had me do:

  1. Balance on a Bosu ball (upside down) doing squats
  2. Stand with my thumb extended in front of me, moving it left to right and following it only with my eyes (very hard to do and hard to not move your head with your eyes!)
  3. Stand on foam rubber square with one foot in front of the other.  Balance, and go.  No hands.  Eyes closed.  (Yah, right.)
  4. Stand on one foot at a time, while throwing a ball into a net type thing.  This is probably one of the hardest things for me to do (besides the Monster Walks <?>) because 2 things are going on at the same time.  Balance on 1 foot without falling down.  Throw a ball into a net.  Do them both together.  The P.T. said he wanted me to do 5 in a row without dropping my other leg.  For a while (5 minutes.  Seemed like 5 hours!) I could do one throw, lose my balance.  Start over.  Rinse and repeat.  And, let me say something here:  I am not sure why certain people go into certain professions, but I am very lucky I got placed with this P.T.  He is outstanding at his job and I have found I look forward to going and seeing him each appointment.  Certain people excel at what they do.  He is one of these people.  He is very complementary (not in a condescending way) of how good I am doing with all of this balance stuff.  He hasn’t mentioned the “P” word (progress) but I think he may seem some small amounts.  And, he was going to say something earlier and I said to him, “Hold on.  You’re going to make me cry.”  Not in a bad way mind you, but in a I-can’t-believe-I-had-2-brain-surgeries-and-still-have-2-brain-tumors-and-here-I-am-today-doing-balance-exercises.  I know I have major PTSD from the surgeries still.  I know it.  I am working on it.

So, while I am mouthing off saying, “I can’t do this.  I can’t do this,” (because I really don’t think I can) but trying to laugh because I am uncomfortable (uncomfortable because it’s hard) I end up doing what the P.T. wanted and throw the ball 5 times into the net without falling over!  I did it!  Never did I imagine this day 4 years ago.  I guess that’s why I am so thankful that I have this blog still, because I am able to look back and see the scary times and see why it’s so important to write about the good times.  Or, better times.  Who knows what the future may hold, how this balance stuff will turn out or progress over time.  I need to make the best of what time I have there!  Right!

I know these bars well!

 

3 thoughts on “Physical Therapy 4, or what I like to call Frustration 101

  1. i’m glad you wrote about this. i think sometimes i don’t give stevie enough credit for how hard he has to work in all his therapy sessions. you got this lady!

Let's chat!

