Guest Post – Meet Heather

I am really thankful that a few more people have reached out and shared their Rare Disease story with me.  I am so blessed to have this blog and to be able to share my story with others!  Heather agreed to do a Guest Post for my blog and I’m so excited to introduce her to you.  Besides our name, she and I have a lot of other things in common too!  Most notably Lhermitte-duclos Disease: it’s very rare for me to connect with others who have LDD.  If you would like to contact her on you can do so here.  Please meet Heather!

*

I was born with a large head which was the beginning of my medical drama. I had multiple surgeries during my school age years to remove benign tumors. When I was in 10th grade I started getting headaches and double vision. It took the doctors a couple of weeks to figure out what was going on but eventually I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. I had brain surgery within the week. The doctors could not remove all of it because it was wrapped around my brainstem. The preliminary pathology report was brain cancer. After a week we got the final pathology report which was L’Hermitte Duclos. I was also told that I probably had Cowdens Syndrome because of all my surgeries and the fact that I had a large head. My world changed in a big way. I went from having no problems in school to having a learning disability. No one could tell that anything was wrong with me unless I got overly tired or stressed which unfortunately happens a lot in High School.  I needed a second brain surgery when I was in College because the headaches and double vision returned. The doctors removed what they could and I continue to get follow up MRI’s. Thankfully things have been stable now for almost 18 years!!!

Two years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I found out after the fact that I was at an increased risk for breast cancer due to the Cowden’s. I was asked if I wanted to undergo genetic testing during this time. I was told that I met all the signs and symptoms for Cowden’s Syndrome but they could tell me officially if I had it. At first I did not see the point in paying a lot of money to find out that I officially have Cowden’s. I ended up getting tested because my sister had just gotten married and wanted to know if she had it. It was easier for them if I got tested first to see where the mutation was. So last year I officially was diagnosed with Cowden’s Syndrome. I had to have a hysterectomy 4 months ago because of complications from the breast cancer and having Cowden’s.  Currently, I am dealing with cognitive side effects from having two concussions two months apart. The doctors tell me that my case is different from most people because I have had two brain surgeries too.
Having CS and LDD is not fun as all of you know but I am doing the best that I can. I try to take one day at a time and do the best that I can with what I have.  My mantra is “In life, you can only play the cards you were dealt.” I get tired of always having something wrong with me so I tend to push through things so I can continue to do the things I enjoy. I may have a rare genetic mutation and a complicated medical history  but it is not going to define who I am.
4 thoughts on “Guest Post – Meet Heather

Let's chat!

