(Thankful)

I know how important it is to have a grateful heart.  I read about it all the time.  And, especially this time of the year it’s vital, right?  With that being said, I could start this post with all the things I am worried about:

  • My brain
  • No income to cover my bills; being destitute sucks and is so scary!
  • My gait
  • My health (covering it all)
  • My future (which will be covered in another post)
  • Status on Disability
  • My car
  • The next colonoscopy
  • The next EGD
  • The next mammogram
  • The next breast MRI (if I can fit into the machine)

Or, I could make a gratitude list.  We have all heard about them, right?  Have you ever made one? I invite you to leave in the comments one thing you are thankful for, especially this weekend.  Here are just a few of mine:

  • My nephews
  • Modern medicine (where I can have 2 craniotomies a week apart and be here to talk about it!)
  • The Internet (where I can connect with others who are living with Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease)
  • My cats Kona and Tigger
  • Same car (as above) – thankful it presently runs
  • Hearing the birds chirp in the morning
  • Food in the cupboards
  • Water to drink
  • Books to read

This list isn’t all-inclusive; I could go on and on.  But, I knew it was important for me to get a few things written so I have them to look back on.  This Thanksgiving was different for me.  It wasn’t ideal; it wasn’t the one I would have planned; I would have preferred to do something different.  But, that wasn’t in the cards.  I tried to make the best with what I had.

Funny.  I could say that exact, same thing about my life now with Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos disease:  it’s not ideal; it’s not the one I would have planned; I would have preferred something different!  How ironic is that?!  Gosh.  As time goes on, and as I continue to write, I see more of these analogies of my life.  But, here’s the most important line and I almost skipped it over.  I tried to make the best with what I had.  Presently, that’s really hard.  (See worry list above).  I didn’t know how to navigate my life very well before CS and LDD, and look at all that’s on my plate now!  Sheesh.

Well, I began this post wanting gratitude in my heart.  I am grateful for all of you who follow me on this rare disease road, who pray for me, who are my cheerleaders.  I wouldn’t be where I am today without you.

2 thoughts on “(Thankful)

Let's chat!

