Some things I have learned since I had brain surgery

  • Listening to someone speak has taken on a whole new meaning.  It is not what it was once was, that’s for sure.  I don’t think I can find the words to accurately describe how difficult/troubling/trying it is sometimes.  Meh.
  • When I was diagnosed in 2011 I thought my world ended.  That I was the lone person who would or could ever understand what it was like to live with Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease.  Rare Disease and all that.  1 person in 200,000 diagnosed, blah blah blargh.  Fast forward a few years later and imagine my joy when I connected with others like me!  Right?  Well, it has been a bitter pill to swallow to realize that these virtual connections meant more to me than to them.  Double meh.
  • I want to do things for the continued health of my brain, yet unfortunately I just spend more and more time watching mindless television.  Why?  I know there is something deeper here, for sure.  Even from 2013 to today, I can see a start difference in my memory and processing functions.  Admitting to myself that I am terrified of my mental health future, and avoidance of all things tough is such a common reaction.

.

.

.

I mean, isn’t it?

 

2 thoughts on “Some things I have learned since I had brain surgery

  1. Hi Heather – Just dropping in to say hello. I’m home on sick leave after incisional hernia surgery for about 2 weeks. It was supposed to be out-patient, but nothing comes easy in the hospital. Doc found 2 more hernias and left me in the hospital for pain management. And good thing – it hurts! I never thought that hernia surgery would be the one that I vote as hurting the most!

    Anyways, I just wanted to say hey before I crawl back under my pain-med induced rug. Take care, happy 2016, definitely as GlowWorm says above ‘be easy on yourself.’ It’s hard. I know.

Let's chat!

