“What’s your cerebellum?”

I have met quite a few interesting people since my diagnosis of Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease.  And, to be honest, many of these “interesting” folks have been medical professionals.

I had blood drawn this week, and sometimes I mention to the staff my medical history (but only if it comes up in conversation).  The technician who drew my blood was new and I’d never seen her before.  We began to talk about my veins, whether I was hydrated (I was fasting), things like that.  I should have known things were going downhill fast when she began to push down hard on my arm.  I had to hold my tongue to not tell her a thing or two!

I know enough to tell them they need to use a butterfly needle, as I have deep veins and lots of scar tissue from the surgeries.  She didn’t like the fact that I told her that.  Then, as this continued I mentioned the brain tumors in my cerebellum and Lhermitte-duclos Disease she said, “What’s your cerebellum?”

I about lost my noodle.

I didn’t mention this to a restaurant worker, or a teacher, or a bus driver.  This conversation was with a person who works in the medical field.  Basic anatomy 101.  Kinda unnerving, to say the least.  Especially when I got home and saw my arm.

bruise

 

 

Let's chat!

