My choice

I know I have the right to choose.  My thoughts, my actions, whether I want to delete a social media account, whatever.

Most days, I try to choose the positive.  I try to choose the happy.  I try to choose the better option.

But today is not that day.

I am thankful to have this small space on the Internet where I can be me.  No holds barred.  Me, as I am.  No filter.

I am beyond annoyed when people tell me, “Oh, you still have a brain tumor?  I thought you had that removed.”

STOP.  Just stop.

If you had made any effort to be a part of my life, you’d know my current situation.  I choose to not share too much on the most common social media platform out there.  I find it more and more comical that people choose to use that for the end-all, be-all, forms of communication.  But, I digress.

Do I need to shout it from the rooftops that I still have 2 brain tumors?  Of course not.  But, I am not sure how to respond; rather, how to hold my tongue, when people respond to me in this way.  I have found as of late that people (even some of my medical team) seem to be judging me.  Judging me, or my honesty, in what I feel and experience every, single, day.  If you’re not living my life, or choosing to ask me, if you find me steering clear of you, you’ll know why.

A brain tumor life is not fun, folks.  The emotional strain, including financial, can be all-encompassing some days.  I will just continue to gain strength to better able choose what’s best for me, until I no longer can.

 

 

 

 

Let's chat!

