Why can’t I sleep?

Does anyone else suffer from sleep anxiety?  I don’t know if it’s from the brain tumors, hysterectomy menopause, anxiety about my dire finances, depression, being overweight…or if it’s a hot mess from all that and more.

I exercise.  I try to meditate (but let’s face it) I have no idea how to do it or what I’m even doing.  I try to eat a salad a day, but I know I struggle to get enough protein because I don’t know what to eat (I don’t eat red meat anymore).

I have some medications and some natural things I take each night.  But, I usually feel horribly drunk still, the next morning.

Do  you have any tips you can offer to for my nighttime routine?  Do you do anything specific to help you sleep?

Thanks!

5 thoughts on “Why can’t I sleep?

  1. I listen to self hypnosis tracks. I have one for weight loss and one that is a generic “change and do the thing you dream of doing”. They both work equally well at shutting off my brain so I can sleep. They do not seem to be affecting my self motivation or weight loss though 😜

  2. Hi! I’ve followed your blog for awhile… I wish I could offer some sort of support. I have brain cancer, so I found your blog through those blogs. You might have tried all of these things already, but I’ll post they is case they are helpful. For meditation, basically deep breathing in a quiet peaceful place. I’ve used guided meditation on YouTube. As for food, I’ve been there too… I feel like my parents raised my with relatively healthy food, but I gained a ton of weight when I was able to drive through fast food as a teen and it’s been a struggle ever since. I’ve always been irritated by over simplifying “just eat fruits and veggies.” So easy to say that without telling people anything at all. I still struggle with weight, but I have had success with eating five times a day. Breakfast- 2 eggs with cheese or a protein shake usually or even an Egg McMuffin is only 300 cal and not a bad way to start the day. I eat 2 snacks a day. One before lunch and one after. I’ll either eat a quarter cup of nuts of any kind or one slice of bread with peanut butter on it. Dairy works too. Lunch and dinner- I stick to lean meats and whole-grain carbs like rice and bread. If you want more details, just ask. I eat that often because I was told that it helps amp up your metabolism, and it has worked for me before. I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time. Even though I’m a complete stranger, you are in my prayers every night! I hope things get better! -Amy

Let's chat!

