PSA 9/13/16

FOR THE LOVE please stop asking me, “Heather are you working today?”

I am fully aware that my cognitive ability and memory are not what they once were.  I can “fake it” most days.  But, I’m not “working”.  I’m not “employed”.  I can maybe substitute teach but only certain assignments on certain days.

You may think you’re “helping” me, but you’re not.  I am also fully aware that you think you are.  Thank you. 

In fact, whether you realize it or not you’re making me feel worse about myself than I already do.  If you want to “help”, ask if you can give me a hug.  Offer to make a date for lunch.  Or a movie.  Stop focusing on my job status (unless you have one to offer me.)  It’s painful enough for me without you bringing more attention to it.

Thank you.

 

 

Let's chat!

