Not a Motivation Monday

Most days, Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease lay pretty quiet.  Except for the constant doctor appointments and dizzy spells, that is.

I try to live as normal a life as I can.  I exercise as often as possible.  I volunteer weekly.  Yet some days my medical status screams its ugly head and I’m knocked off my feet.

This week, I had had the following scheduled:  New psychiatrist appointment, new neurologist appointment (because I was without care for a few months), and a colonoscopy and EGD.

I knew this week would be busy, so I tried to ready myself as best I could.  But it’s only freaking Monday!  Why are things coming unraveled already?! I received a call this morning from the neurologist’s office.  The “doctor” (I use that term loosely) was reviewing my case and decided that she would not see me.  You see, I had been under the care of another facility (within the same system, just a different city) but when their neurologist left the clinic I had to make other arrangements for my health care.  Just because I have welfare insurance doesn’t mean my health suffers needlessly.  I am my own advocate.

I explained the situation, but of course it fell on deaf ears.  I was refused care.  And, I 1/2 bet it was because she didn’t want to treat me.  2 brain tumors and another Rare Disease.  I mean, who’d want to touch me with a 10 foot pole, right?

I lost it.  I won’t go into details of what I told this young girl on the phone and what I think of this doctor.  I didn’t cuss.  I wasn’t rude.  Just very expressive of how the decision of this so-called doctor is affecting my medical care.  And, my Disability claim on top of that.

My life is in limbo enough.  Now, add this neurology fiasco and I feel even more defeated then I do any other day of my life.

Happy Motivation Monday to you all!

 

 

Let's chat!

