Mid-October?

Wow.  I can’t believe this month is already 1/2 over!  That’s so crazy.

I was looking at my calendar this morning and was a bit overwhelmed with all I have going on:

  1. Colonoscopy and EGD
  2. New therapist appointment
  3. Endocrinologist appointment the end of the month
  4. I had 2 different Neurology appointments scheduled, and they both fell through.  (It’s mildly concerning to me since I am living with 2 brain tumors and have had 2 craniotomies.  But, I digress.  For another post.)

I guess my point is that I’ve been forced to learn how to advocate for my health.  And, that’s one of my biggest takeaways since diagnosis of the brain tumors.  I get to share my experiences with you, and hopefully at least 1 thing I’ve experienced these last 5 years may be of some help to you.  To someone.  Somewhere.  That helps me feel that none of my medical experiences have been for naught.

I could tell you horror stories, and rest assured, I will continue to share them.  (Gross negligence of privacy issues to start.)

But, not tonight.  I am still traumatized from the colonoscopy and EGD last week.  I’m still irate for not being able to see a neurologist.  However, the main thing is even though I must endure numerous screenings and procedures (and those aren’t going away any time soon), I will not tolerate unacceptable behavior.  I will not waste my time waiting in exam rooms for doctors who don’t listen to me.  This is my life, this is my health; if you’re not meeting my medical needs, I refuse to endure and I will move on.

I never would have done that in my previous life.  I would have just gone along with things, because I had to.  Well, you know what?  I don’t have to do anything.  I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to do.  Has the diagnosis of Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease made me stronger?

Hmmm….

2 thoughts on “Mid-October?

Let's chat!

