Do you need a fresher-upper?

“I have been given this product as part of a product review through the Chronic Illness Bloggers network. Although the product was a gift, all opinions in this review remain my own and I was in no way influenced by the company. ”

NOTE: There may be some information in this post that you may find uncomfortable. Please be warned! 🙂

Have you heard of Fresh Assist? It is a nifty product that states: “Get Clean in Between!” What a novel idea! Getting clean(er) can only be a good thing in my book. #AmIRite?

The Fresh Assist Spray came at a very good time in my life. While I haven’t (yet) been diagnosed with IBD or something similar, I have struggled for many years with chronic constipation with episodes of diarrhea. I always attributed my GI issues with being overweight, and throughout the years I seemed to manage the episodes relatively well with over the counter items and adding a fiber supplement to my diet. With all that being said, the times I experience(d) my GI issues I did have a lot of struggle getting “clean”.

Now I find myself in another situation with struggling to get “clean”. My fine-motor skills are decreasing quickly. (My fine-motor skills are decreasing due to the two brain tumors in my cerebellum. Your cerebellum is your balance center and you can read more about it and how it functions here. Your cerebellum is also called the “small brain”. I have had 2 brain surgeries and the tumors are still there.) I have difficulty grasping things (pencils, keys, etc.) and often drop things.  Now I have found toilet paper is difficult for me to grasp. Such a bummer! Can you imagine what a pain that is? So, this spray has come in handy. The directions are pretty self-explanatory: “Apply 2-3 sprays to TP, Wipe, Flush.” It made the toilet paper wet a bit, but nothing too drastic.  Plus it’s safe on plumbing.  Another win!

freshassist

I received the “Cooling Chamomile” scent, but as far as I can tell, there isn’t any scent with this one. (At least to me I didn’t smell anything.) There’s also a lavender scent, but I think I have a lavender allergy so this was a lucky thing for me to not receive that one. If you’re sensitive to smells like I am (read: migraineur) this Chamomile option would probably be best for you. I love the fact that Fresh Assist is free from: gluten, nuts, and parabens. I am very mindful of limiting parabens in my life as much as possible, and now especially since diagnosis of Cowden Syndrome and Lhermitte-duclos Disease.

freshassist3

However, with all this being said, I am just not sure this did as much for me as I’d like or expected it to. It is in fact “cooling”, which can be such a blessing when you’re wiping constantly. But, that’s about all I noticed. I still have to wipe several times, but thankfully my private area is receiving comfort. I never got into using baby wipes because in fact, I never felt clean.  Plus I worried about the wipes clogging the toilet.  This spray does help me in feeling “cleaner”, but that’s it.

freshassist2

I would recommend this spray if you have any lower GI issues and need relief from constant wiping with toilet paper. If you’re hoping for another result, I don’t think this product is for you.

Let's chat!

