That brain scan life

Yesterday morning I had another scan.  I wish I knew how many I’ve had since diagnosis.  (I bet it’s 10X more than I think.)  You know, I think hope wish that every time I go it’ll get easier.  It doesn’t.

I have to ask the MRI technician every time the following questions:

  • What if there’s a power outage while my scan is happening?
  • What if something happens to you while it’s happening?
  • What if there’s an earthquake while I’m in there?
  • What if there’s a natural disaster?  Or an emergency at the hospital while I’m in there?

The technician is pretty funny; he knows me by name and me him.  He always talks me off a ledge, which I appreciate.  Plus, I’m usually medicated so that helps 150%, too.

I practiced my visualization:  I am at Disneyland.  I am at the front entrance getting my ticket when the scan begins, then I start to make my way through the entire park.  (It’s a neat little tip that works for me!)

Just like when I see the oncologist for my breast exam and think, “Is this the day she’ll find a lump?”, I found myself thinking yesterday, “Is this the day there will be growth on either tumor?”

We shall see.

Let's chat!

