Can’t stop thinking about it

I wasn’t going to write about this but since I can’t stop thinking about it, I suppose I should.

I was at the dermatology doctor a few days ago.  (I won’t go into the melanoma risks with Cowden Syndrome right now.)  When I exited the elevator and headed to the check-in window, I heard a loud male’s voice.  I could tell immediately that he was irate about something and was on the verge, if he wasn’t already, of making a scene.  The waiting room area is quite large, so I stayed far to the other end.  Come to find out, he was at the exact window I needed to be in order to check-in.

I made eye contact with one of the staff (who are protected behind a plate glass window, but whatev) and she said she could check me in for my appointment.  The man continued to yell, and I told the receptionist she needed to call security.  She did.

Then she finished my check-in steps and I was finished.  Yet, the man was still where I needed to be and he was still yelling.  I heard another female staff (I assumed a manager-type) trying to talk with him to calm him down.  I heard her say, “Do you need to go to the ER?” and then I heard her say, “If you keep saying things like that I will need to call security.” This guy then really escalates and starts yelling such vulgar and disgusting things (about) one or all the girls behind the plate glass window.

I watched this all unfold as the manager came over to the window I was at and asked the receptionist to call security.  I walked back near the elevators and restroom, and was wracking my brain of what I should do.  Hide in the restroom?  Get back in the elevator?  I didn’t know where the stairs were off hand.  I saw a young man with 2 little toddler girls by the restroom. I told him to get the kids away from the area because a guy was making a scene.

So, all this is playing out in slow motion for me.  I’m getting anxious now as I write this.

What seems like a second later, I see the security guard come off the elevator.  I told him, “Go that way!” and no sooner do I say that the irate man and I are face to face.  I leaned towards the right and bee-lined around him.  I heard the security guard say, “I need someone to tell me what’s going on here.”  And the nice man with the 2 toddler girls said something (helpful) as well, but I was already gone.

I walked over to the window (where I normally would have checked-in) and I said to one of the girls, “I don’t want to be out here.”  She buzzed me inside the doors and I waited there for a minute or 2 before she took me back to the exam room.

I couldn’t speak as I got to the exam room. I told them they probably didn’t want to take my blood pressure as it’d be through the roof.  I’ve never felt so vulnerable in my entire life.

 

8 thoughts on “Can’t stop thinking about it

  1. I’m so sorry to hear of the trauma you’ve been through. It would be hard to know how far something like this would escalate, so it would be truly scary. On top of everything else you’re struggling with. I wonder what the agitation was that it would be worth the risks for him to behave like that. I’m glad you’re okay. It’s important to work through traumas like this in whatever way you feel most comfortable.

  2. Sorry you experienced this, but just one word of advice; If you ever feel vulnerable in a situation such as that, always leave the area completely if possible. Neve return and go into the exam area. You never know if he has a weapon, and you will be trapped in there. I am not paranoid, but I am aware, and any building I enter that I am unfamiliar with I always, always, always look for an exit staircase. Not necessarily for a gun man situation, but for a fire or any other emergency. All offices ( at least in the Northeast) have exit plans in all of their offices posted in public areas. I always look at it. Some may say that is living in paranoia but all I can say is if a gas line explodes or anything like that, the people who are embarrassed to check the evacuation map are going to be toast. Hope you feel better soon and hope you always have an exit plan, in any situation or location.

    • This is a great reminder. Thank you! I have pepper spray with me at all times, now especially! Aware is not the same as paranoid, I fully agree. Staircase! For sure I’ll know where it is next visit.

  3. Pingback: I know there’s only so many ways: | hopeforheather

Let's chat!

