Daily Prompt: Avid

I am by no means a writer.  I use this blog to document my life since diagnosis, so I guess it’s more a journal, of sorts.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that!  But, I have always wished I could write well/better.  I like to do these Daily Prompts when I can to gain some practice.  Hopefully it’s improving my writing.

As a child, I was definitely an avid reader.  I remember being holed up in my room all weekend reading either these or these.  I probably didn’t see the sun on most weekends when I was a teenager. One of my best memories is going to the mall each month to get the next in this series! 


Then life happens and I kind of get out of the habit of reading.  Weird.  Books are in my veins.  I have worked at 2 different bookstores, too!

But lately?  Something has changed.  Since diagnosis of brain tumors and surgeries, reading has been much more difficult for me.  Not enjoyable.  Almost painful and completely irritating.  When I have to re-read the same paragraph many times, I just get so angry.  At myself, at my life’s situation, everything.

Thankfully I changed that mindset a few months ago.  I have picked up reading again with a vengeance almost.  I know how beneficial reading is, and I view it as physical therapy for my brain.

For the sake of my brain for now and the future, I am once again an avid reader.  I just finished this book and am now reading this one.

.

.

.

Do you like to read? What would you recommend?

 

 

23 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Avid

      • I read Classics. Thomas Hardy, Leo Tolstoy and Fyodor Dostoevsky are my favourite writers.
        You can read War and Peace. A book that, I believe, can change anybody’s thinking process.
        If you want to read books that are more related to nature go for Hardy.
        And if you want to explore human mind, go for Dostoevsky’s ‘Crime and Punishment.’

  1. Well done on perseverance πŸ˜ƒ I loved the Book Thief, 11.22.63 by Stephen King and A little Life. But I have millions of other favourites too πŸ˜ƒπŸ»

  2. Hey Heather ! Thank you for dropping by my blog . I had a large brain tumor that grew very big . It pressed my motor cortex so I had to learn to use the left side again . My speech was slowed and I had trouble getting my words. I had a small stroke. But here I am !!! Keep on keeping on !! What kind of tumor did you have ?

  3. I love to read but am worried that I will feel the same frustration as you. I have just been diagnosed with a brain tumor and am having a craniotomy this Friday May 12th. Ugh. I’m nervous of course but have a lot of faith and hope that all will be ok! Hope you feel better soon and I’ll be following your blog πŸ™‚

      • They said it’s a “low grade” and looks non aggressive but won’t know everything until pathology results are back!It’s located on the right frontal lobe of my brain. It’s been causing me to have small seizures daily! I’m exhausted from it and am looking forward to having it taken out! Scares me more to leave it in with all these symptoms I’m having! I hear I will wake up in pain and may be weak on my left side for awhile! Hoping and praying for the best!

  4. I read Old Books by Old Authors (so old, most are no longer living.) Hermann Hesse, Anthony Trollope, Jane Austen, Isaac Asimov, to name a few. However, the one drawback to reading these authors is they are not publishing any more books. I was so desperate for a good book to read, I wrote one. It’s a good book.

  5. Pingback: Author Interview – Gordon C. Stewart – β€œBe Still!: Departure from Collective Madness” (Poetic Theological Essays on Politics, Pop Culture, Economy and Much More) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Let's chat!

