Much needed update/clarification

I need to clarify something on my previous post. But before I do so, do you remember this post from my early days here? If you have a moment, please do check that link. That doctor was Dr. F., and she was beyond incredible, supportive, and knowledgeable of all things thyroid and beyond. Getting diagnosed with Cowden Syndrome, after 8 years since my ThyCA diagnosis was huge. I am so thankful she was on the road with me.

So, let’s move on to my most recent Endocrinologist, whom I will call Dr. Savage. 🙂 You know, with my hundreds (probably accurate) of various doctors I have seen these past 10 years, there are 4 total who will always be in my heart: my neurosurgeon, my first PCP, Dr. F. and now Dr. Savage. They all deserve an entire blog with thousands of post dedicated to them and their service to ME, their patient. #grateful

Anyways, I posted a few days ago about what Dr. Savage said to me on my last appointment. I didn’t take offense! I was joking in my post actually (with my reaction). I won’t go into it again here about depressed and horrible my mental health was a few months ago. I was in a very dark place, quite scary. Good gracious meds. can be a lifesaver. I begged and pleaded with Dr. Savage to write me an exemption for my job, just in case I need one. Dr. Savage couldn’t/wouldn’t write me one. Also, I won’t go into it here about how much that killed and destroyed me; he knows. Dr. Savage knows. But, regardless if *that issue, I know he cares about me as his now (former) patient.

We did get me a current thyroid ultrasound because you know, Cowden Syndrome and thyroid issues go hand in hand in hand in hand. Dr. Savage told me the scan was “OK”. I don’t ever use normal because CS isn’t normal. He said the tissue, which is *not thyroid tissue, is stable. If I were still his patient he would scan me next December, unless labs come out funky or something before that. The tissue is probably a nodule, and thanks once again to Cowden Syndrome, I did have a multi-nodular goiter that took 5+ hours to remove back in 2003.

Happy New Year to one and all. I pray 2022 we all can see some light. Somewhere. At the end of this hellacious tunnel we are in.

Let's chat!